San Antonio River Authority logo

Flood Retention Sites

Floodwater Retarding Structures
Operation and Maintenance

SARA has two maintenance units which operate the 41 completed floodwater retarding structures in five watershed protection and flood prevention projects. The majority of these structures are located on privately owned land. The main thrust of the maintenance program is the management of the vegetative cover on the floodwater retention dams which prevents destructive soil erosion and provides for structural stability. SARA maintenance units are also responsible for addressing property owners concerns and for maintenance and repair of the service spillway inlet structures and fences around the dams.

The Bexar County Maintenance Unit is located in southeast Bexar County near Loop 1604 and Highway 181 South in a 4,000 square foot facility. The unit is responsible for the 28 floodwater retarding structures in the Salado, Calaveras and Martinez Creek Watershed Projects as well as one structure located in the Helotes area.

The Karnes County Maintenance Unit is located on the northern edge of Kenedy on land donated by the Kenedy Chamber of Commerce. In cooperation with the Escondido Watershed District, Hondo Watershed District, the City of Kenedy and the Karnes County Soil and Water Conservation District, SARA maintenance personnel operate and maintain thirteen floodwater retention dams and the 2.07 miles of Nichols Creek.